Folklorama Lunchtime Concert Series Kicks Off Today

Folklorama Lunchtime Concert Series Kicks Off Today

By Sarah Klein

Folkorama is less than a week away, but those who can’t wait will appreciate a free, outdoor concert series all week long.

The lunchtime cultural entertainment display will feature performers from a handful of upcoming pavilions at The CUBE stage in Old Market Square.

The concerts will run Monday to Friday, beginning today, July 26, until August 6 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

The Folklorama Culture at The CUBE lineup includes:

  • Monday, July 26 – French Canadian ensemble Ca Claque!
  • Tuesday, July 27 – Ireland-Irish Pavilion Performers
  • Wednesday, July 28 – Brazilian ensemble Viva Capoeira
  • Thursday, July 29 – Clyde Heerah & the Paradize Band
  • Friday, July 30 – Latin American band Tropical 99 with limbo dancer Prince Jo-Jo
  • Monday, August 2 – Hi Life Steel Orchestra
  • Tuesday, August 3 – from Los Angeles, Russian folk band Limpopo with dancers
  • Wednesday, August 4 – Latin band Buena Clave
  • Thursday, August 5 – singer/songwriter and fiddling sensation Sierra Noble
  • Friday, August 6 – Colombian Pavilion Performers, all the way from Colombia

Folklorama runs from August 1-14, 2010. Watch a video preview from last week. photo