UFC to Make Winnipeg Debut in June

UFC to Make Winnipeg Debut in June

Tom Wright - UFC
Tom Wright, UFC director of operations for Canada, Australia and New Zealand, announces UFC 161 during a news conference at MTS Centre in Winnipeg on Tuesday, March 5, 2013. (STAN MILOSEVIC / CHRISD.CA)

UFC - Ultimate Fighting ChampionshipFight fans will get a dose of the Ultimate Fighting Championship in Winnipeg later this spring.

UFC 161 will be held at MTS Centre on Saturday, June 15. The pay-per-view event will include a bout between  Maurico “Shogun” Rua vs. Antonio Rogerio Nogueria.

“Canadians love their MMA and we love bringing it to them,” said UFC president Dana White in a release. “There are many Canadian cities on our radar and we hope to visit as many as possible. We’re excited to make Winnipeg happen and can’t wait to bring a stacked card to the MTS Centre.”

Other bouts on the card will be Hendo vs. Rashad and Miocic vs. Palelei.

Tickets for UFC 161 will go on sale Friday, April 12 through Ticketmaster. A pre-sale will be available to UFC newsletter subscribers on Thursday, April 11. Fight Club members will have the opportunity to purchase tickets on Wednesday, April 10 at ufcfightclub.com.

The event will air live on pay-per-wiew at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT/7 p.m. PT on UFC.TV, iN DEMAND, DirecTV, DISH Network, Avail-TVN, and in Canada on Bell TV, Shaw Communications, Sasktel, and Viewer’s Choice Canada for $49.99 for standard definition and $59.99 for high definition.