Home » News » Province of Manitoba Introduces First Year-Round E-Waste Depots

Province of Manitoba Introduces First Year-Round E-Waste Depots

May 14, 2009 10:45 AM | News

E-Waste Drop Off - April 23 2009

Due to the growing demand in finding a location to drop off old electronics known as e-waste, the province announced today several depots where Manitobans can bring their material.

Items such as TVs, VCRs, stereos, microwaves, phones, computer equipment, laptops, printers, scanners, fax machines and copiers are just some of the items being accepted at these new depots to be recycled.

Beginning tomorrow, Manitobans will have access to 30 e-waste collection depots. Ten of these sites will offer year-round collection including five in Winnipeg. More sites will be added over the course of the summer.

The provincial government is investing more than $1 million dollars to support the network of collection depots as well as the transportation and environmentally responsible recycling of discarded electronics.

During the last two years, Manitobans have dropped off more than one million kilograms of electronic waste at temporary collection depots operated by local communities, businesses and non-profit recycling centres. This is the equivalent of diverting 95 semi-trailer loads of electronic waste out of landfills by recycling the waste through the provincial E-waste Roundup program.

During Earth Day back in April, Winnipeggers took the opportunity to drop off their e-waste at a depot at the corner of Waverley and McGillivray.

Continue reading below for a list of specific locations.

E-Waste Depot Locations (* Year-round depots)

Computers for Schools,* 170 Wyatt Rd. (until July 31); 75 Terracon Pl. (after Aug. 1)
Miller Environmental,* 1803 Hekla Ave.
Syrotech Industries,* 93 Gomez St.
Powerland Computers,* 170 Marion St.
Powerland Computers,* 40 Durand St.
Urbanmine, 97 Rothwell Rd.
CR Computers, 24 – 2077 Pembina Hwy. (south of Bishop Grandin Boulevard)

Pinawa – Pinawa Recycling, north on PR 211 at Lagoon Road
Steinbach* – Eastman Recycling, 60 Industrial Rd.

Virden – Salvage Kraft, 411 King St.
Wawanesa – Village of Wawanesa Waste Transfer Station
Baldur – Southwest Community Options, 225 Second St.
Killarney –  Killarney Recycling Depot, 610 Williams Ave.
Dunrea – RM of Riverside Nuisance Grounds
Ninette* – Southwest Community Options, 210 Queen St.
Carberry –  Carberry Waste Transfer Station, one mile west on PR 351
Minnedosa, Neepawa* – Evergreen Environmental Technologies, PR 466
Brandon* – City of Brandon MRF, 3000 Victoria Ave. E
Shoal Lake – Shoal Lake and District Recycling and Landfill

Dauphin – Kinsmen Recycling Site (location to be announced)
Swan River – Valley Lions Recycling and Landfill Site, one mile south

St. Francois Xavier – Transfer Station, corner of Rosser Road and Two Mile Road
Selkirk* – Responsible Electronic Recycling , 511 Robinson Ave.

Flin Flon – Flin Flon Recycling Centre, 9 Timber Lane
Thompson – Thompson Recycling Centre, 16 Severn Cres.

Pilot Mound/Crystal City – Louise Waste, north of junction of PTH 3 and PTH 34
Manitou – Pembina/Manitou Recycling Centre, 261 Main St.
Carman – Carman Waste Transfer Station, one mile south and one mile west
Morden – Pembina Valley Containers, 160 Grant St.
Portage la Prairie – Public Work Yards, 495 11th St.

Specific times and dates and all the latest information is available at www.greenmanitoba.ca or by calling 1-866-460-3118.

ChrisD.ca photo


Tags: Green