Home » Entertainment » Nominees Announced for 2009 WCMAs

Nominees Announced for 2009 WCMAs

July 14, 2009 7:20 AM | Entertainment

Western Canadian Music AwardsNominees for the 2009 Western Canadian Music Awards will be announced later this morning in Brandon.

The WCMAs will take place in the Wheat City September 17-20. 146 nominees will compete for 31 artistic and industry awards.

Past winners include internationally acclaimed artists such as Nickelback, Ian Tyson, Nelly Furtado, Jann Arden and Corb Lund.

The weekend will begin Thursday, September 17 with the annual University of Brandon “Rock the Block” street party. On Friday and Saturday, 60 bands will perform at seven of Brandon’s top venues. At the same time, 400 music industry professionals and artists will attend the WCMA conference at Brandon’s Canad Inns and Keystone Centre.

UPDATE: 2:19 p.m. — See the complete list of nominees below.

Aboriginal Recording of the Year
Eagle and Hawk – Sirensong (MB)
Inez – Singsoulgirl (BC)
Team Rezofficial – The World (And Everything In It) (AB)
Tanya Tagaq – Auk (NWT)
Billy Joe Green – First Law of the Land – “If Broken Return To Maker” (MB)

Blues Recording of the Year

The Twisters – Come Out Swingin’ (BC)
Big Dave McLean – Acoustic Blues-Got ‘Em From the Bottom (MB)
John Lee Sanders – Bucket Full of Blues (BC)
Amos Garrett – Get Way Back – A Tribute to Percy Mayfield (AB)
Agnostic Mountain Gospel Choir – Ten Thousand (AB)

Children’s Recording of the Year
Bobs and Lolo – Action Packed (BC)
Will Stroet – My Backyard (BC)
Alphabet Soup – You’re It! (MB)
LuLu et le Matou – Faites de la Musique! (MB)
LuLu and the TomCat – Fossil Rock (MB)

Christian Recording of the Year

Corey Doak – No Sudden Movements (BC)
Tripmeter – The End of Everything We Are (SK)
Sandon – Freedom’s Last Lost Mile (SK)
Tuesday Bloom – Tuesday Bloom (MB)
Steve Bell – Devotion (MB)

Classical Composition of the Year
Sid Robinovitch –Rodas Recordada (MB)
T. Patrick Carrabre – A Hammer For Your Thoughts (MB)
Alain Perron – Northern Highlights I: Soir d’hiver (SK)
Gareth L. Cook – A Miner’s Song (SK)
Piotr Grella-Mozejko – The Secret Garden String Quartet No 2 (AB)
Jeffrey Ryan – String Quartet No. 3 “sonata distorta” (BC)

Classical Recording of the Year
Stephen Chatman – Due East (BC)
Alexander Tselyakov            – Sonata Album (MB)
Trio Accord – Goldberg Variations (BC)
Windrose Trio – Path Of Contact (AB)
Sarah Hagen – Glass House Dancing (BC)
Sid Robinovitch – Sefarad (MB)

Country Recording of the Year
Doc Walker – Beautiful Life (MB)
The Higgins – Real Thing (BC)
Aaron Pritchett – Thankful (BC)
The Road Hammers – The Road Hammers II (AB)
George Canyon – What I Do (BC+AB)

Francophone Recording of the Year

Daniel ROA – Le nombirl du monde (MB)
Saint-Pierre – 42 (BC)
Joel Lavoie – La récolte (AB)
Allez Quest – Hybride (AB)
Francois Tremblay – Prophete de Malheur (SK)

Independent Album of the Year
The Waking Eyes – Holding On To Whatever It Is (MB)
Shout Out Out Out Out – Reintegration Time (AB)
Hot Panda  – Volcano… Bloody Volcano (AB)
Library Voices – Hunting Ghosts (and other collected shorts) (SK)
the Sheepdogs – The Sheepdogs’ Big Stand (SK)

Instrumental Recording of the Year

The Marc Atkinson Trio – The Marc Atkinson Trio IV (BC)
Steve Dawson – Telescope (BC)
Don Alder – Not A Planet (BC)
Joel Fafard – Three Hens Escape Oblivion (BC)
UCalgary String Quartet – Far Behind I Left My Country (AB)

Jazz Recording of the Year
Rubim de Toledo – The River (AB)
Jerrold Dubyk – The Maverick (AB)
The October Trio – Looks Like It’s Going To Snow (BC)
Mark Dejong – The Unknown (SK)
The Brenan Brothers – The Throw Down (AB)
The Peggy Lee Band – New Code (BC)

Pop Recording of the Year
Marianas Trench – Masterpiece Theatre (BC)
Hey Ocean – It’s Easier to be Somebody Else (BC)
The Awkward Stage – Slimming Mirrors, Flattering Lights (BC)
JP Hoe -The Dear John Letters (MB)
Carly Rae Jepsen – Tug Of War (BC)
Record of the Week Club – Record of the Week Club (MB)

Rap and Hip Hop
Moka Only – Carrots and Eggs (BC)
Grand Analog – Touch Your Toes (MB)
Sweatshop Union – Water Street (BC)
Dragon Fli Empire – Redefine (AB)
The Mavericks Team – Election Year (AB)

Rock Recording of the Year
The Waking Eyes – Holding On To Whatever It Is (MB)
Theory of a Deadman – Scars and Souvenirs (BC)
Chad VanGaalen – Soft Airplane (AB)
54-40 – Northern Soul (BC)
The Pack A.D. – Funeral Mix Tape (BC)

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year
Chic Gamine – Chic Gamine (MB)
The Deep Dark Woods – Winter Hours (SK)
The Duhks – Fast Paced world (MB)
Scott Nolan – Receiver/Reflector (MB)
Oh My Darling – Oh My Darling (MB)

Roots Solo Recording of the Year
Steve Dawson – Waiting For The Lights To Come Up (BC)
Dan Mangan – Roboteering (BC)
Romi Mayes – Achin In Yer Bones (MB)
Geoff Berner – Klezmer Mongrels (BC)
Ndidi Onukwulu – The Contradictor (BC)

Songwriter of the Year
Romi Mayes – Achin In Yer Bones (MB)
The Duhks – Fast Paced World (MB)
Scott Nolan – Receiver/Reflector (MB)
Chad VanGaalen  – Soft Airplane (AB)
JP Hoe – The Dear John Letters (MB)

Urban Recording of the Year
Krystle Dos Santos  – Krystle Dos Santos (AB)
Souls In Rhythm – Funklore (AB)
Skavenjah – One More Night With You (SK)
Ishq Bector – DAKKU DADDY (MB)
Paramedic – Love, Doubt and Soul (AB)

World Recording of the Year
Delhi 2 Dublin – Delhi 2 Dublin (BC)
Fito Garcia – Mi bajo Rumbero (BC)
eclecTrip – …a musical journey (AB)
Kalabai – Hopaks and Baniaks (AB)
Tanya Tagaq – Auk (NWT)


Agency of the Year

Magnum Opus Management
Paquin Entertainment Group
PM Gigs Inc.
S.L. Feldman and Associates

Best Album Design

Derek Bachman for “One More Night with You Live” by Skavenjah
Jared Robinson for “Freedom’s Last Lost Mile” by Sandon
Laura Prpich for “A Field Guide to…” by the Lazy MKs
Mark Dutton for “Yellowhead to Yellowstone and Other Love Stories” by Ian Tyson
Michael Sanders for “Paperboy” by TRU-SERVA

Engineer of the Year

Barry Allen
Mike Petkau
Rob Smith
Shawn Pierce
Sheldon Zaharko

Independent Record Label of the Year
Arbor Records Ltd.
Black Hen Music
Chronograph Records Ltd.
Mint Records
Stony Plain Records

Live Music Venue of The Year
Amigos Cantina
Casino Regina Show Lounge
Horowitz Theatre
The Starlite Room
The Commodore Ballroom

Manager of the Year
Bruce Allen
Gilles Paquin
Glen Willows
Jason Smith
Terry McBride

Multi Media
Chad VanGaalen video: Molten Light
Fresh IE and Jayson Lapeyre video: Crystal PSA
Jolene Higgins video: In the Middle of Nowhere
Mitch Barany video: City of Noise
Gilles Paquin DVD: A Multi-Media Life; Buffy Sainte-Marie

Producer of the Year
Dave Genn and Neil Osborne
JJ Voss
Shawn Pierce, Chris Gestrin, Coco Love Alcorn
Steve Dawson
Vince Ditrich

Talent Buyer of the Year
Nhaelan McMillan – The Union Ltd.
Brent Oliver – Brent Oliver Presents and Keystone Entertainment
Harvey Cohen – The Union Ltd.
Chris Frayer – The Winnipeg Folk Festival
Terry Wickham – The Edmonton Folk Music Festival

Hall of Fame
Loreena McKennitt

Industry Builder Award
Gilles Paquin – Paquin Entertainment Group

Heritage Award

International Achievement

Tags: Brandon | Music