Home » Entertainment » Winners of the 2009 Western Canadian Music Awards

Winners of the 2009 Western Canadian Music Awards

September 20, 2009 11:55 PM | Entertainment

Eagle and Hawk - 2009 Western Canadian Music Awards

The 2009 Western Canadian Music Awards wrapped up Sunday night in Brandon, as dozens of artists took home prestigious pieces of hardware. Eagle & Hawk (above) won for Aboriginal Recording of the Year for “Sirensong.” Other big names to pick up awards were Doc Walker, Micheal Bublé and Theory of a Deadman.

The Winners

Blues Recording of the Year
Big Dave McLean – Acoustic Blues – Got ’em from the bottom

Children’s Recording of the Year
Bobs & Lolo – Action Packed

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Recording of the Year
Steve Bell – Devotion

Classical Composition of the Year

T. Patrick Carrabré – A Hammer For Your Thoughts

Classical Recording of the Year

Windrose Trio – Path Of Contact

Country Recording of the Year

Doc Walker – Beautiful Life

Album francophone de l’année/ Francophone Recording of the Year
Daniel ROA – Le nombril du monde

Independent Album of the Year

The Waking Eyes – Holding On To Whatever It Is

Instrumental Recording of the Year

Steve Dawson – Telescope

Jazz Recording of the Year

Jerrold Dubyk – The Maverick

Pop Recording of the Year
Marianas Trench – Masterpiece Theatre

Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year
Grand Analog – Touch Your Toes

Rock Recording of the Year
Theory of a Deadman – Scars and Souvenirs

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year

The Deep Dark Woods – Winter Hours

Roots Solo Recording of the Year

Romi Mayes – Achin In Yer Bones

Songwriter of the Year
Romi Mayes – Achin In Yer Bones

Urban Recording of the Year
Krystle Dos Santos – Krystle Dos Santos

World Recording of the Year
Delhi 2 Dublin – Delhi 2 Dublin

Hall of Fame Award
Loreena McKennitt

International Achievement Award

Micheal Bublé
James Ehnes

Agency of the Year
Paquin Entertainment Group

Album Design of the Year

Derek Bachman – One More Night with You Live by Skavenjah

Engineer of the Year
Shawn Pierce

Independent Record Label of the Year
Mint Records

Live Music Venue of the Year

The Commodore Ballroom

Manager of the Year
Terry McBride

Multi Media Award
Mitch Barany – City of Noise – The Summerland

Producer of the Year

Steve Dawson

Talent Buyer of the Year

Harvey Cohen – The Union Ltd.

Heritage Award

Robert Turner

Industry Builder Award

Gilles Paquin – Paquin Entertainment Group

WCMA handout photo


Tags: Brandon | Music