Home » News » Three Winnipeggers to Be Invested into Order of Canada

Three Winnipeggers to Be Invested into Order of Canada

July 1, 2010 8:51 AM | News

By David Klassen

A select group of Winnipeggers have been chosen to be invested into the Order of Canada.

Governor General Michaëlle Jean announced the 74 Canadian appointments on Wednesday, three of whom are from Winnipeg.

Among the recipients is Rosalind Prober, co-founder of Beyond Borders, for her contributions as a volunteer and social advocate working to advance the rights of children and stop global child sexual exploitation.

Étienne Gaboury will also receive the honour for his architectural works, located mostly in the Canadian Prairies, for his commitment to the development of French culture, and for his leadership in community, cultural and professional organizations. Gaboury is the mastermind behind the design of the Royal Canadian Mint, and other notable buildings throughout Manitoba and the rest of the country.

The third recipient is Aftab A. Mufti for his contributions to and leadership in the field of civil engineering, notably for researching the use of advanced composite materials and fibre optic sensors in the construction and monitoring of bridges and other infrastructures.

All recipients will be invited to Ottawa for a special ceremony to be held at a later date.


Tags: Ottawa