Home » Sports » Inductees Named for 2010 Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame

Inductees Named for 2010 Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame

July 29, 2010 6:04 AM | Sports

By Brian Schultz

The 2010 Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame inductees were announced on Wednesday, and include four athletes, two sports community builders and two teams.

The 2010 inductees include:

Kenneth J. Galanchuk — Basketball
Jo-Ann Lindsay — Golf
Shane Moffatt — Baseball/Hockey
Christine O’Connor — Builder/Soccer
George Phillips — Builder/All Round
Frank Rigney — 1966-67 Team Manitoba/Football
Centennial Canoe Team
1984 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Team

“These eight recipients join an exclusive group of Manitoba’s finest in sport,” said Don Pincock, president of the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors. “We strive to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sport excellence and achievement and these six individuals and two teams have earned their place in Manitoba’s sport history.”

All eight recipients will be inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame at the 31st Annual Induction Ceremonies on Saturday, November 6 at the Victoria Inn.

Tickets for the Induction Dinner go on sale August 1. More information is available at SportManitoba.ca.

DOWNLOAD biographies on each of the inductees. (PDF, 164 KB)