Home » News » Four New Faces Elected to Winnipeg’s City Hall

Four New Faces Elected to Winnipeg’s City Hall

October 27, 2010 9:30 PM | News

City Hall, 510 Main Street (CHRISD.CA)

There will be four new faces at City Hall after Wednesday’s civic election. Newly-elected councillors Thomas Steen (Elmwood-East Kildonan), Paula Havixbeck (Charleswood-Tuxedo), Devi Sharma (Old Kildonan) and Ross Eadie (Mynarski) were all elected.

Thomas Steen is a former Winnipeg Jet and was seen as the underdog in the councillor race, facing a tough battle against former CTV reporter Shaneen Robinson. Steen takes over for the retired Lillian Thomas. Paula Havixbeck fills in the vacant spot left by the late Bill Clement, while Devi Sharma replaces the retired Mike O’Shaughnessy, who Sharma worked for as his executive assistant. Ross Eadie replaces Harry Lazarenko, who retired due to health reasons earlier this year.

Incumbent councillors John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry), Justin Swandel (St. Norbert), Gord Steeves (St. Vital), Dan Vandal (St. Boniface), Jenny Gerbasi (Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry), Jeff Browaty (North Kildonan), Grant Nordman (St. Charles), Mike Pagtakhan (Point Douglas), Russ Wyatt (Transcona), Harvey Smith (Daniel McIntyre) and Scott Fielding (St. James-Brooklands) all return to their seats.

Mayor Sam Katz has a busy few days ahead, as he must choose which councillors will make up the Executive Policy Committee (EPC). Katz says a decision on who will sit on the committee needs to be finalized by Tuesday, November 2.