Home » News » Travel Manitoba Boss Inducted into Tourism Hall of Fame

Travel Manitoba Boss Inducted into Tourism Hall of Fame

November 3, 2010 4:43 PM | News

From left to right: Helen Halliday (Delta Winnipeg), Tannis Hogue (Economic Development Winnipeg Inc.), Michelle Gervais (Ô TOURS), Christian Robin (Canadian Museum for Human Rights), Hubert Mesman (Travel Manitoba), Kim Jasper (Canadian Museum for Human Rights), Lilian Tankard (Travel Manitoba), Ruth Marr (Marr Consulting Services), Marian Perrett (Ô TOURS), Marina R. James (Economic Development Winnipeg Inc.) and Chantal Sturk-Nadeau (Tourism Winnipeg). (MARK HOLLERON PHOTO / HANDOUT)

The president and CEO of Travel Manitoba has been inducted into the Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame.

Hubert Mesman received the honour Tuesday from the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) during a ceremony at Canada’s Tourism Leadership Summit in Gatineau, Quebec.

Mesman plans to retire soon after spending 35 years in a variety of tourism marketing and consulting positions. His work includes projects to bolster Manitoba’s tourism and business community and he continues to be involved in major event bid acquisitions in partnership with Tourism Winnipeg.

Mesman is the first Manitoban to be inducted since the creation of the Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame in 2006.

Other 2010 inductees honoured last night included tourism officials from Prince Edward Island and Vancouver.

Tags: Travel