Home » News » Authors Narrowed Down as ‘Manitoba Reads’ Finalists

Authors Narrowed Down as ‘Manitoba Reads’ Finalists

August 30, 2011 6:49 AM | News

By Brian Schultz

Finalists in the first-ever Manitoba Reads event have been chosen as part of the Winnipeg International Writers Festival.

A panel of judges will debate a series of books down to a single title on September 24 during the closing Mainstage show of THIN AIR 2011.

Judges and their titles of choice to be debated include Alison Gillmor (Reading by Lightning by Joan Thomas), Vincent Ho (The Life of Helen Betty Osborne by David Alexander Robertson), Paul Jordan (Bandit by Wayne Tefs), and Niigon Sinclair (Where Nests the Water Hen by Gabrielle Roy).

The books were chosen among 16 titles written by Manitoba authors. At the end of the voting period, four judges each selected one of the remaining eight titles as their top pick.

“This is so exciting,” said Charlene Diehl, director of THIN AIR. “The top four books truly represent the talented authors Manitoba has to offer.”

The line-up at this year’s THIN AIR includes Miriam Toews, Guy Vanderhaeghe, Wayne Tefs and Waubgeshig Rice. Festival events will take place at a variety of venues around Manitoba, including the Oodena Celebration Circle, the Park Theatre, Red River College, University of Manitoba, University of Winnipeg, and the Manitoba Theatre for Young People.