Home » Sports » Five Bisons Named to Canada West All-Star Team

Five Bisons Named to Canada West All-Star Team

November 9, 2011 2:30 PM | Sports

Five University of Manitoba Bison football players have been named to the 2011 Canada West Conference All-Star Team.

Rookie Anthony Coombs was selected at the running back position, rookie Nic Demski was named at kick returner position on special teams, fourth-year Thomas Hall was named at linebacker on defence, fourth-year Teague Sherman was named at safety, and fifth-year Pete Adams was selected at halfback position.

“I am really proud of the five Bison players receiving conference recognition and happy that two rookies received this honour in their first year,” head coach Brian Dobie said in a statement. “In addition, it is a honour for Pete to finish his fifth and final season at Manitoba with his third straight season as conference all-star.”

The Bisons ended their 2011 season with a 3-5 Canada West record with no post-season play. On the plus side, five Bisons haven’t been named to the All-Stars since the 2007 Vanier Cup Championship team.