Home » Sports » Bison Hockey Players Pick Up Mike Ridley Awards

Bison Hockey Players Pick Up Mike Ridley Awards

January 19, 2012 8:14 AM | Sports

Seventeen men and four women from the University of Manitoba Bisons’ hockey program have received Mike Ridley Awards.

The awards were established during the 2003-04 season as an endowment fund for the U of M, and came from interest collected on the equivalent of Ridley’s first-year NHL salary.


The awards are given to athletes with superior athletic ability in good academic standing, and with a high level of leadership as a full-time student. Each male student-athlete will receive $750 and each female student-athlete will receive $650.

Ridley was a Bison from 1983 to 1985 before starting his 12-year NHL career with the New York Rangers, Washington Capitals, Toronto Maple Leafs and Vancouver Canucks.

The figure of the endowment has never been disclosed, but it’s believed to be in excess of $200,000.

Award recipients:

Men: Chris Benias, Joe Caligiuri, Del Cowan, Dane Crowley, Jesse Deckert, Tyler Dittmer, Chad Erb, Pat Flynn, Mike Hellyer, Brandon Lockerby, Matthew Lowry, Blair Macaulay, Travis Mealy, Myles Rumsey, Jeremy Schappert, Tyler Schmidt and Jared Walker.

Women: Chantal DeSpiegelaere, Leiette Klassen, Maggie Litchfield-Medd and Michelle Pawluk.

ChrisD.ca video