Manitoba’s Top Coaches Honoured with Awards

Manitoba’s Top Coaches Honoured with Awards

Manitoba’s top coaches were honoured Sunday as Sport Manitoba handed out its Coaching Manitoba Excellence Awards.

The annual event recognizes the contributions coaches have made to their sport and athletes over a number of years.

“Coaches are a pivotal part of the amateur sport system while serving as role models and teachers for our youth,” said Sport Manitoba president and CEO Jeff Hnatiuk. “They make a valuable contribution to the community and are worthy of the honour and recognition.”

This year’s award winners are:

Vince Leah Memorial Award
Brigitte Smutny, Sailing, Winnipeg

Dr. Jack Hunt Memorial Award
Andy Tough, Athletics, Winnipeg

Peter Williamson Memorial Award
Bill Johnson, Wheelchair Basketball, Winnipeg

Peter Dick Award
Don Thomson, Basketball, Brandon

The awards were handed out during a packed brunch at McPhillips Station Casino.


Pssst, while you're here... is Winnipeg's only independent digital news outlet, producing reliable journalism and localized content since 2007. As we grow as a company, so do our expenses into creating the news, sports and entertainment coverage you've come to expect from us. We ask that if you enjoyed reading this article that you consider making a small donation towards our efforts. It would be greatly appreciated in helping us reinvest to expand our reach and hire additional freelance reporters and photographers. Thank you!

Support ?

Sports Highlights