CFL Approves Blue Bombers’ Move to West Division

CFL Approves Blue Bombers’ Move to West Division

By Brian Schultz

CFL Divisions
The Winnipeg Blue Bombers will play in the West Division beginning next season. (FACEBOOK)

Winnipeg Blue Bombers LogoThe Winnipeg Blue Bombers will play in the CFL’s West Division next season, after the league’s board of governors approved the move.

CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon says the move is for the purposes of standings and playoffs, and sits well for the Bombers, as much of their history has taken place in the West.

“It also helps pave the way for expansion in 2014, as the Ottawa Redblacks join our league as our ninth team, and play as part of the East Division,” Cohon said.

Since 1930, the Bombers have spent 61 years in the West, 21 years in the East, and one year in the CFL’s northern division, during the league’s expansion to the United States.

“We are proud of our history in the CFL, but especially proud of our ten Grey Cup victories, eight of which came as we represented the West,” said Bombers acting CEO Wade Miller

For the 2014 season, the West Division will consist of the B.C. Lions, Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Eskimos, Saskatchewan Roughriders and Winnipeg Blue Bombers. The East Division will consist of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Montreal Alouettes, Ottawa Redblacks, and Toronto Argonauts.


Pssst, while you're here... is Winnipeg's only independent digital news outlet, producing reliable journalism and localized content since 2007. As we grow as a company, so do our expenses into creating the news, sports and entertainment coverage you've come to expect from us. We ask that if you enjoyed reading this article that you consider making a small donation towards our efforts. It would be greatly appreciated in helping us reinvest to expand our reach and hire additional freelance reporters and photographers. Thank you!

Support ?

Sports Highlights