Home » News » Six Award-Winning Canadian Books to Top Your Summer Reading List

Six Award-Winning Canadian Books to Top Your Summer Reading List

May 8, 2014 8:39 AM | News

Margaret Atwood – The Robber Bride(NC) — Summer in Canada is made for reading. Canada, and especially Ontario, has produced some of the world’s favourite literary treasures, like Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje and Margaret Atwood.

With a talent pool so big, it can be difficult to know where to start putting together the perfect summer reading list. Look no further than the winners of Ontario’s Trillium Book Award for inspiration.

Managed by the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC), the Trillium Book Award has been Ontario’s premiere prize in literature for 27 years.

When you’re building this year’s summer reading list, these classic Canadian stories, each Trillium Book Award winners, are must-reads for all Canadians.

Alice Munro – Dear Life and The Love of a Good Woman

A three-time Trillium Book Award winner, Munro’s short stories in Dear Life and The Love of a Good Woman follow everyday characters who encounter their own personal struggles through a series of accidents, encounters, and unexpected surprises.

Wayson Choy – Jade Peony

Wayson Choy transports readers to Vancouver’s Chinatown during the first half of the 20th century in Jade Peony. Exploring Canadian identity through the eyes of three siblings of Chinese descent, Choy evaluates Canadian attitudes towards the Japanese during Japan’s occupation of China following the attack on Pearl Harbor.

Rabindranath Maharaj – Amazing Absorbing Boy

In Amazing Absorbing Boy, Maharaj moves us to discover how we find inner peace through the experiences of a young teen from Trinidad who moves to Canada after his mother’s death.

Michael Ondaatje – In The Skin of a Lion

In The Skin of a Lion won the very first Trillium Book Award in 1998. The book focuses on the immigrants that shaped the development of Toronto at the turn of the 19th century. Ondaatje also won for The English Patient in 1993.

Margaret Atwood – The Robber Bride

Margaret Atwood is a three-time Trillium Book Award winner. Set in 1960s Toronto, The Robber Bride follows three friends who come together after the death of a former classmate.

The Trillium Book Award winners are announced each June. Visit OMDC.on.ca to see the 2014 winners and discover other award-winning titles.


Tags: Canada