Home » News » Royal Honour for Four Manitoba RCMP Members

Royal Honour for Four Manitoba RCMP Members

May 21, 2014 5:58 PM | News

Four Manitoba RCMP members were presented with Long Service Medals by Prince Charles on Wednesday.

The Prince of Wales made the presentation on the last day of his Canadian tour at the Fairmont Winnipeg.

The ceremony was organized to highlight the 80th anniversary of the RCMP Long Service Medal. The four recipients were Cpl. Debbie Beck, Cst. Roger Lavallee, Cpl. David Ogungbemi, and S/Sgt. Glen Reitlo. During the ceremony, His Royal Highness also highlighted the 40th anniversary of women in the RCMP ranks by presenting Janice Armstrong with her rank insignia as a deputy commissioner.

The RCMP Long Service Medal is awarded to any officer, non-commissioned officer or constable who bears an irreproachable character and who has completed not less than 20 years’ service.

Meta has been blocking Canadian news from its platforms, Facebook and Instagram, since August 1, 2023 in response to Canada’s Online News Act. To ensure you don’t miss the local news that matters to you, please subscribe to our free daily e-mail newsletter and add ChrisD.ca to your bookmarks and smartphone home screen. You can also follow us on Google News.