Seven Manitoba Communities to Get Flood Protection Upgrades

By Tyler Sutherland

Protective Dike
Crews work to dismantle a tempoary protective dike near St. Adolphe, Manitoba on Tuesday, May 17, 2011. (STAN MILOSEVIC / CHRISD.CA FILE)

Seven Manitoba communities are in line for permanent flood protection upgrades at a cost of $14.85 million.

The province and federal government are funding the construction of permanent dikes by upgrading and replacing the temporary diking put in place following the floods of 2011. Communities include the towns of Souris and Melita, Duck Bay, Waterhen and the rural municipalities of St. Clements, East St. Paul and West St. Paul.

“A tremendous unified effort was required across Manitoba to fight the flood of 2011 and these communities responded to that challenge with temporary dikes to protect people and property,” said Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation. “We are pleased to join in the funding of the conversion to permanent dikes and enhanced flood fighting capacity.”

Ottawa and the province will both provide $6.75 million each, while the seven municipalities will contribute $1.35 million.


Pssst, while you're here... is Winnipeg's only independent digital news outlet, producing reliable journalism and localized content since 2007. As we grow as a company, so do our expenses into creating the news, sports and entertainment coverage you've come to expect from us. We ask that if you enjoyed reading this article that you consider making a small donation towards our efforts. It would be greatly appreciated in helping us reinvest to expand our reach and hire additional freelance reporters and photographers. Thank you!

Support ?

Sports Highlights