Home » Entertainment » Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros to Headline Winnipeg Folk Festival

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros to Headline Winnipeg Folk Festival

March 5, 2015 6:02 PM | Entertainment

Winnipeg Folk Festival

A woman takes in a musical performance on the opening night of the Winnipeg Folk Festival on Wednesday, July 9, 2014. (TED GRANT / CHRISD.CA FILE)

The Winnipeg Folk Festival has thrown back the curtain on its exciting lineup for the 2015 edition of the popular summertime music fest.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros will headline the main stage, along with Wilco, José González and Jenny Lewis to lead the new folk revival. Classic favourites including Arlo Guthrie and famed folk-rock band Steeleye Span will take their place as festival veterans.

“With this lineup, we are honouring folk music by embracing the evolution of folk while staying true to the traditions of Folk Fest,” said artistic director Chris Frayer. “Modern folk artists are playing with the genre and pushing it in new directions and this lineup will be an exciting representation of that.”

Also on the lineup are Jason Isbell, Donovan Woods, Royal Canoe, The Sadies and others.

Tickets go on sale Friday at 10 a.m. Tickets start at $185 for a four-day festival ticket and are on sale at WinnipegFolkFestival.ca, Ticketmaster and the Winnipeg Folk Festival Music Store at 211 Bannatyne Avenue.

Folk Fest is July 9-12 at Birds Hill Provincial Park.

Complete 2015 lineup:

Arlo Guthrie-50th Anniversary of Alice’s Restaurant
Ash Grunwald
Barmer Boys + DJ Spincycle
Birds of Chicago
Blind Boy Paxton
Bobby Bazini
Brandy Zdan
Casey Driessen
Current Swell
Dan Mangan + Blacksmith
Daniel Champagne
Donovan Woods
Dustbowl Revival
Edward Sharpe and the Magentic Zeros
Frazey Ford
Gingger Shankar
J.D. Wilkes
Jason Isbell
Jenny Lewis
Jeremy Fisher
Jessica Pratt
José González
Kurt Vile
Leonard Sumner
Les sœurs Boulay
Leyla McCalla
Liz Longley
Marlon Williams
Matt Andersen & The Mellotones
Mexican Institute of Sound & Toy Selectah present the COMPASS Project
Mo Kenney
Nahko and Medicine For The People
Robyn Hitchcock
Royal Canoe
Seanster and the Monsters
Secret Agent 23 Skidoo
Shakey Graves
Shred Kelly
Slow Leaves
Steeleye Span feat. Maddy Prior
Steph Cameron
Steve Gunn
Steve Poltz
Summer Bear Dance Troupe
The Bright Light Social Hour
The Jerry Cans
The Jones Family Singers
The Mariachi Ghost
The Perch Creek Family Jug Band
The Reverend Rambler
The Sadies
The Tillers
The Weather Station
Trampled by Turtles
William Tyler
Xylouris White