Home » News » Jonathan Toews, Tom Cochrane Among 12 to Receive Order of Manitoba

Jonathan Toews, Tom Cochrane Among 12 to Receive Order of Manitoba

May 12, 2015 8:08 AM | News

Jonathan Toews

Chicago Blackhawks’ Jonathan Toews (19) celebrates his deflection for the game winning goal on Winnipeg Jets goaltender Ondrej Pavelec (31) as Jets’ Tyler Myers (57) defends during third period NHL action in Winnipeg on Sunday, March 29, 2015. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/John Woods)

WINNIPEG — The Order of Manitoba will see 12 new inductees this year, including rock music icons and NHL players.

The honour recognizes those who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour, benefiting the social, cultural or economic well-being of Manitoba and its residents.

“While the individual accomplishments of the 12 women and men recommended this year for investiture are wide ranging, they share the giving spirit and commitment to community for which Manitobans are known,” said Lt.-Gov. Philip S. Lee, chancellor of the order.

“Whether their impact is felt at the local or international levels, they are each a credit to our province and our country.”

This year’s inductees are:

  • Rachel Alao, founding executive director and program director of Winnipeg’s Helping Hands Resource Centre for Immigrants Inc., for helping countless newcomers to Canada maximize their potential in a new country;
  • Chad Allan, a rock music icon, for his contributions to the Canadian music industry including the pivotal role he played in the creation of two legendary Winnipeg rock bands: The Guess Who and Bachman-Turner Overdrive;
  • Karen Beaudin, a community resource co-ordinator and proud Manitoba Métis, for increasing support, understanding and respect for Indigenous people in the workforce and her ongoing service to the community;
  • Tom Cochrane, a multi Juno Award-winning musician, for his celebrated accomplishments as a member of Red Ryder and as a solo performer, and his far-reaching humanitarian efforts;
  • Dian Cohen, economist, broadcaster and author, for her economic acumen, broadcast excellence and the important role she has played in shaping community strategies and government policies;
  • Wilma L. Derksen, artist, author and internationally respected expert on the unique needs of victims of serious crime, for her long-standing support and advocacy following the abduction and murder of her daughter Candace in 1984;
  • Dan Johnson, the founding executive director of the Manitoba Special Olympics, for championing special needs athletes and helping Manitoba Special Olympics become a model for Canada;
  • Sheldon Kennedy, well known for his NHL career, but better known for turning the tragedy of a history of sexual abuse into awareness, hope and help for other victims around the world;
  • Donald R. J. Mackey, much-honoured Métis veteran, for ensuring the sacrifices of First Nations and Métis veterans are never forgotten and encouraging inner-city youth through the establishment of the Sgt. Tommy Prince, MM, Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps;
  • Mitch Podolak, founding artistic director of the Winnipeg Folk Festival, for his contributions to the folk music community, and establishing and promoting music festivals and artistic venues in Manitoba and throughout North America;
  • Khhem Kamarie (Monica) Singh, a member of the Manitoba Ethnocultural Advocacy and Advisory Council, for actively supporting recent immigrants to Manitoba, especially in areas that help to improve the quality of life of women, their families and communities; and
  • Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks captain, Stanley Cup victor, and gold-medal winning Olympian, for his tremendous contributions to sport and the community while serving as an exemplary model for Canadian youth.

This year’s ceremony will take place July 9 at the Manitoba Legislative Building.

Tags: Manitoba