Home » News » New Manitoba Program Gives Heritage Status to Three Trees

New Manitoba Program Gives Heritage Status to Three Trees

October 1, 2015 1:42 PM | News

By Sarah Klein

Cottonwood Tree

(Cottonwood tree image via Shutterstock)

The Manitoba government is protecting three types of trees as part of the new provincial Heritage Trees Program.

The first three to receive the special heritage designation are the Point Douglas School cottonwood, planted in 1891, the Waterloo Street American elm, planted in 1905, and the Souris old oak in Souris, which is believed to be approximately 550-years-old and is thought to be one of the oldest trees in Manitoba.

“Special trees deserve recognition so they can be protected, especially if they have played an important role in Manitoba history or have unique characteristics,” said Conservation and Water Stewardship Minister Tom Nevakshonoff.

“This program will help ensure these trees are protected and their histories are shared with locals and visitors alike.”

Heritage trees may be nominated if they are historically or culturally significant, notable because of a unique location, the largest/oldest of its species in the province, or are considered extremely rare in Manitoba.

Nominations can be submitted by anyone and will be reviewed by the Manitoba Heritage Tree Review Committee.

Trees that do not receive formal designation under the heritage tree program will remain part of the Manitoba Tree Register.

Tags: Manitoba