Home » News » Premier Brian Pallister, Cabinet Sworn in at CMHR

Premier Brian Pallister, Cabinet Sworn in at CMHR

May 3, 2016 10:50 AM | News

Brian Pallister

Brian Pallister speaks at the Canadian Museum of Human Rights after being sworn in as Manitoba premier in Winnipeg, Tuesday, May 3, 2016. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Mike Sudoma)

Premier Brian Pallister and his 12-member cabinet were sworn in Tuesday at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights.

Pallister and his fellow Progressive Conservative MLAs took their oaths of office as designated by Lieutenant Governor Janice Filmon.

“I am humbled and honoured by the opportunity to serve Manitoba,” Pallister said.

“Our team’s plan for a better Manitoba with lower taxes, better services and a stronger economy was overwhelmingly endorsed by Manitobans. We look forward to the opportunity to turn those commitments into reality. We know the job ahead of us will not be easy, but this is the right team to get Manitoba back on track.”

The new Manitoba government cabinet is as follows:
Brian Pallister (MLA for Fort Whyte) – premier and president of the executive council; minister of intergovernmental affairs and international relations;
Heather Stefanson (MLA for Tuxedo) – minister of justice and attorney general, Keeper of the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba, deputy premier;
Cameron Friesen (MLA for Morden-Winkler) – minister of finance;
Kelvin Goertzen (MLA for Steinbach) – minister of health, seniors and active living;
Ian Wishart (MLA for Portage la Prairie) – minister of education and training;
Scott Fielding (MLA for Kirkfield Park) – minister of families;
Blaine Pedersen (MLA for Midland) – minister of infrastructure;
Eileen Clarke (MLA for Agassiz) – minister of Indigenous and municipal relations;
Cathy Cox (MLA for River East) – minister of sustainable development;
Cliff Cullen (MLA for Spruce Woods) – minister of growth, enterprise and trade;
Ralph Eichler (MLA for Lakeside) – minister of agriculture;
Rochelle Squires (MLA for Riel) – minister of sport, culture and heritage and minister responsible for francophone affairs and status of women; and
Ron Schuler (MLA for St. Paul) – minister of Crown services.

Pallister also announced Goertzen will be the government house leader and Jon Reyes has been appointed the military envoy.