Home » News » Asper, Scharfstein Recommended to Join Winnipeg Police Board

Asper, Scharfstein Recommended to Join Winnipeg Police Board

April 19, 2017 9:25 AM | News

David Asper


Mayor Brian Bowman is recommending corporate executive and philanthropist David Asper and local businessman Brian Scharfstein to the Winnipeg Police Board.

The appointments fill vacancies left by Chair Coun. Jeff Browaty after his resignation in February, as well as citizen appointee Derek Johannson, who resigned in March.

“David and Brian are both strong community leaders who are very committed to our community and city,” said Mayor Bowman. “I believe their combined leadership, community, and business experience will be an asset to the Board and I am pleased they have agreed to be recommended for appointment.”

Brian Scharfstein

Brian Scharfstein

Asper, a community leader, is also a lawyer and legal educator who sits on a number of other boards, including as chair of The Asper Foundation and chair and co-founder of Amenity Health Care.

Scharfstein is a pedorthist, and principal owner of Canadian Footwear and the FootHealth Centre in Winnipeg and Calgary. He is also former chair of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

Following successful background security checks and the approval of city council, Asper would become chair and Scharfstein a citizen appointee effective immediately. Their terms would expire on December 31, 2018.

Current members of the Winnipeg Police Board include Councillor Ross Eadie, Barry Tuckett (vice-chair), Mary Jane Loustel, Larry Licharson, and Alicja Szarkiewicz.

Meta has been blocking Canadian news from its platforms, Facebook and Instagram, since August 1, 2023 in response to Canada’s Online News Act. To ensure you don’t miss the local news that matters to you, please subscribe to our free daily e-mail newsletter and add ChrisD.ca to your bookmarks and smartphone home screen. You can also follow us on Google News.