Home » News » Mayor Bowman Announces EPC, Adds Newcomer Councillor Sherri Rollins

Mayor Bowman Announces EPC, Adds Newcomer Councillor Sherri Rollins

November 5, 2018 3:50 PM | News

By Sarah Klein

City Hall

City Hall, 510 Main Street (FILE)

WINNIPEG — Re-elected Winnipeg Mayor Brian Bowman has chosen his inner circle to begin his second term.

Bowman on Monday unveiled the six members of his Executive Policy Committee, known for backing the mayor’s agenda at City Hall.

Joining EPC is rookie Councillor-elect Sherri Rollins (Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry), who was also named chair of the Standing Policy Committee on Protection, Community Services and Parks.

Returning to EPC are Couns. Matt Allard (St. Boniface), Scott Gillingham (St. James), Cindy Gilroy (Daniel McIntyre), Brian Mayes (St. Vital), and John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry).


“A critical part of being an effective EPC member is being willing to build a unified city rather than focusing on regional divisions and differences,” said Bowman. “We can’t be city builders if we tear each other down.”

Bowman also appointed Councillor-elect Markus Chambers (St. Norbert-Seine River) as deputy mayor, and Councillor-elect Vivian Santos (Point Douglas) into the role of acting deputy mayor.

The nomination and election of the speaker and deputy speaker will be undertaken as part of Tuesday’s inaugural meeting of council. Nominations and appointments to other city agencies, boards, commissions, council liaison positions, including the Winnipeg Police Board, will be made later this month.