Home » News » Manitoba Cabinet Shuffle Promotes Four to Inner Circle

Manitoba Cabinet Shuffle Promotes Four to Inner Circle

January 18, 2022 3:27 PM | News

Heather Stefanson - Cabinet Shuffle

Manitoba Premier Heather Stefanson, centre, speaks to the media at a news conference following a swearing-in ceremony for her new cabinet, alongside ministers Andrew Smith, left; Scott Johnston, second from left; Eileen Clarke, second from right; and Doyle Piwniuk, right, at the Manitoba Legislative Building in Winnipeg on Tuesday, Jan. 18, 2022. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/David Lipnowski)

WINNIPEG — Premier Heather Stefanson has shuffled the first cabinet of her government and added four new ministers to the slate of MLAs with portfolios.

Scott Johnston (MLA for Assiniboia) comes into cabinet and will lead the new department of seniors and long-term care.

Doyle Piwniuk (MLA for Turtle Mountain) is the new minister of transportation and infrastructure, and Andrew Smith (MLA for Lagimodiere) as minister of sport, culture and heritage, and minister responsible for Travel Manitoba and the Manitoba Centennial Centre Corporation (MCCC).

Eileen Clarke (MLA for Agassiz), who previously served as Indigenous relations minister until resigning under former Premier Brian Pallister, returns as minister of municipal relations.

“Manitobans want and expect a government that acts with integrity and compassion, and that puts their needs first,” said Stefanson. “I am confident this team will focus on the priorities of Manitobans as we continue to fight back against COVID-19 and work together to build a healthier, stronger and more prosperous province for all.”

Audrey Gordon (MLA for Southdale) will maintain the health portfolio as minister of health.

Other changes to cabinet include:

  • Cliff Cullen (MLA for Spruce Woods) as deputy premier and minister of economic development, investment and trade
  • Kelvin Goertzen (MLA for Steinbach) as minister of justice and attorney general, and minister responsible for Manitoba Public Insurance (MPI) and government house leader
  • Cameron Friesen (MLA for Morden-Winkler) as minister of finance and minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro
  • Scott Fielding (MLA for Kirkfield Park) as minister of natural resources and northern development, and minister responsible for the Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation (MBLL)
  • Jeff Wharton (MLA for Red River North) as minister of environment, climate and parks, and minister responsible for Efficiency Manitoba
  • Reg Helwer (MLA for Brandon West) as minister of labour, consumer protection and government services, minister responsible for the Public Utilities Board (PUB) and minister responsible for the civil service
  • Wayne Ewasko (MLA for Lac du Bonnet) as minister of education and early childhood learning
  • Derek Johnson (MLA for Interlake-Gimli) as minister of agriculture
  • Jon Reyes (MLA for Waverley) as minister of advanced education, skills and immigration
  • Sarah Guillemard (MLA for Fort Richmond) as minister of mental health and community wellness
  • Audrey Gordon (MLA for Southdale) will lead the reframed health portfolio as minister of health
  • Rochelle Squires (MLA for Riel) as minister responsible for the status of women and minister responsible for accessibility while continuing as minister of families and minister responsible for francophone affairs
  • Alan Lagimodiere (MLA for Selkirk) remains minister of Indigenous reconciliation and northern relations

Stefanson dropped two people out of cabinet — Cathy Cox, who was sport, culture and heritage minister, and Ralph Eichler who headed up agriculture.

Former infrastructure minister Ron Schuler was removed from cabinet in December over messaging surrounding the province’s COVID-19 vaccination efforts.

— With files from The Canadian Press