Home » Sports » Habing, Coombs Named Bisons Athletes of the Year

Habing, Coombs Named Bisons Athletes of the Year

March 31, 2014 9:24 AM | Sports

Anthony Coombs - Manitoba Bisons

Manitoba Bisons runningback Anthony Coombs (1) runs for first down in Canada West football action against the Saskatchewan Huskies at Investors Group Field on Saturday, September 7, 2013. (SHAWN COATES / CHRISD.CA FILE)

Brittany Habing

Brittany Habing (GOBISONS.CA)

Two Manitoba Bisons athletes were honoured over the weekend during the annual Brown and Gold Banquet.

Bisons volleyball player Brittany Habing and Bisons football running back Anthony Coombs were named the Bison Sports Athletes of the Year.

Habing’s selection continues the dominance of the women’s volleyball program, as it is the third time in the last four seasons that a player from the program has been named to the yearly honour. Habing’s team captured the national CIS championship on March 2 after sweeping Regina 3-0.

Coombs had a record-breaking season as he was recognized for a third consecutive season at the CIS and conference level in his third season at Manitoba in the 2013-14 season. The football program played their inaugural season at Investors Group Field on campus and hosted/won a playoff game for the first time since winning the Vanier Cup in 2007.

Bison women’s volleyball coach Ken Bentley was selected as 2013-14 Bison Sports Coach of the Year while Bison Sports Rookie of the Year award winners announced were Rebekah Sass plus co-winners Andre Arruda and Adam DeJonckheere along with Gary Johnson as the Pat Gill Legacy Award winner.

Bison Sports Team MVPs for the 2013-14 season:

Women’s Basketball – Vanessa DeVries
Men’s Basketball – Andre Arruda
Women’s Cross Country – Rebekah Sass
Men’s Cross Country – Abduselam Yussuf
Football – Anthony Coombs
Men’s Golf – Josh Wytinck
Women’s Hockey – Kyleigh Palmer
Men’s Hockey – Ian Duval
Women’s Soccer – Chloe Werle
Women’s Swimming – Kimberly Moors
Men’s Swimming – Dillon Perron
Women’s Track & Field – Amy Graceffo
Men’s Track & Field – Matthew Fitkowsky
Women’s Volleyball – Brittany Habing
Men’s Volleyball – Devren Dear