Women of Distinction Awards Handed Out at Gala

The YMCA/YWCA 2010 Women of Distinction Awards were handed out Wednesday night at the Winnipeg Convention Centre.

From 45 nominees, the winners are …

Arts and Culture — Marie Bouchard
Business and the Professions — Janet Ingersoll
Community Voluntarism — Gudrun Viola Bjarnason-Hilton
Creative Communications — Nancy Chippendale
Education and Training — Linda Bulka
Health and Wellness — Dr. Patricia Martens
Research and Innovation — Dr. Karmin O
Young Woman of Distinction — Oluwatomilayo Daodu
Gerrie Hammond Memorial Award of Promise — Kaitlin Alexander
Prairie Award of Promise — Sarah Ens

Kimberley Clare received the first ever Eira ‘Babs’ Friesen Lifetime Achievement Award for her many years of dedicated community-wide service.

Proceeds from the evening will go to support Youth Leadership Development Programs, YWCA’s Week Without Violence and English Adult Language Programs for women.

Congratulations to all the winners.


Pssst, while you're here...
ChrisD.ca is Winnipeg's only independent digital news outlet, producing reliable journalism and localized content since 2007. As we grow as a company, so do our expenses into creating the news, sports and entertainment coverage you've come to expect from us. We ask that if you enjoyed reading this article that you consider making a small donation towards our efforts. It would be greatly appreciated in helping us reinvest to expand our reach and hire additional freelance reporters and photographers. Thank you!

Support ChrisD.ca ?

Sports Highlights