PHOTOS: 33rd Annual Manitoba Marathon

PHOTOS: 33rd Annual Manitoba Marathon

Philip Samoei runs on Lyndale Drive on Sunday, June 19, 2011 as part of the 33rd Manitoba Marathon. (TED GRANT / CHRISD.CA)

A record number of participants laced up on Sunday for the 33rd annual Manitoba Marathon.

A Father’s Day tradition, this year’s winner of the full men’s marathon was Philip Samoei, a Kenyan-born Calgary runner, who came in with a time of 2:35:45.

Gina Tessman won the women’s marathon with a time of 2:58:04.

In the half-marathon, Brian Walker came in first at 1:11:58, having also won in 2007.

Alice Sherwin won for the women with a time of 1:27:15.

Chester Draper, 71, from Dryden, Ontario won the men’s full wheelchair marathon with a time of 1:57:26.

View the photo gallery below.




Trending Videos