Home » News » ‘Women of Distinction’ Honoured at Gala Dinner

‘Women of Distinction’ Honoured at Gala Dinner

May 2, 2012 10:00 PM | News

The YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg handed outs its 2012 Women of Distinction Awards Wednesday night at its 36th annual gala dinner.

Fourteen women were bestowed with hardware from a group of 79 deserving nominees. The awards recognize women for their talents, vision and inspiration.

“We are happy to celebrate the achievements of these amazing women,” said Betty Black, chair of the 2012 Women of Distinction Awards steering committee. “There is so much remarkable work being done in our community, by a variety of women from all demographics.”

2012 Women of Distinction Awards recipients:

Arts — Catharine Teichroew
Circle of Inspiration — Dianna Bussey, Diane Redsky and Joy Smith
Culture — Tina Chen
Education, Training and Mentorship — Karen Botting
Leadership and Management — Dr. Jeannette Montufar
Public Awareness and Communications — Anna-Celestrya Carr
Science, Technology and the Environment — Dr. Maureen Heaman
Voluntarism, Advocacy and Community Enhancement — Chau Pham
Wellness, Healthy Living and Recreation – Janice Lukes
Young Woman of Distinction — Amanda Furst

Gerrie Hammond Memorial Award of Promise — Alana Robert
Prairie Award of Promise — Kelby Loeppky

Awards of Promise include a $2,000 scholarship for graduating Grade 12 students.

Proceeds from the gala dinner, held at the Winnipeg Convention Centre, go to support many vital community initiatives for women and youth.